Coach Henry Abiodun has stepped down as the Technical director of Ondo State Football Agency ODSFA after six years.

Abiodun who has also managed Sunshine Stars in the past was asked to step in after the sack of Duke Udi in march over acts of insubordination and gross misconduct.

Coach Abiodun whose contract ends in December said its better he steps aside after the dissolution of the players, coaches and backroom staffs.

Speaking with 9jagoal.wordpress.com, coach Abiodun said “I am now a free agent, at least for now and I have made my decision known to the chairman today, I now wait for my entitlements to be paid as quickly as possible”

“My lawyer will take it from there so I could get my complete sum in due time”.

Abiodun started his career with ODSFA November 1st, 2012 as Technical instructor of the academy, he later became Sunshine Stars FC head coach and was appointed Technical director of ODSFA in 2015 where he served for 3 years.

He doubled as the Technical director of both ODSFA and sunshine Stars FC in the just concluded NPFL season.



Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has

called up Moses Simon who was left out of the World Cup squad due to injury for the double header against Libya who are Group E leaders.

Making his return to the squad after a while is Watford striker, Isaac Success who is in contention for the number 9 position after Simeone Nwankwo was omitted from the list.

Arsenal FC of England forward Alex Iwobi (who scored the goal against Zambia that qualified Nigeria for the 2018 FIFA World Cup at the same venue a year ago), will return alongside Italy –based duo William Ekong and Olaoluwa Aina. All three missed the 3-0 win over Seychelles in Mahe last month due to injury.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa retain his spot in the team as the only home –based professional.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

Nigeria will host the first leg at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo on Saturday, 13th October with the return scheduled for the 18,000 capacity Stade Taïeb Mhiri in the city of Sfax, Tunisia on Tuesday, 16th October.

All invited players are to report in the Akwa Ibom State capital on Monday, 8th October 2018.