Awards winners

1992 Abedi AYEW PELE (Ghana)
1993 Rashidi YEKINI (Nigeria)
1994 Emmanuel AMUNIKE (Nigeria)
1995 George WEAH (Liberia)
1996 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
1997 Victor IKPEBA (Nigeria)
1998 Mustapha HADJI (Morocco)
1999 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
2000 Patrick MBOMA (Cameroon)
2001 El-Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2002 El Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2003 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2004 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2005 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2006 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2007 Frederic KANOUTE (Mali)
2008 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR (Togo)
2009 Didier DROGBA (Côte d’Ivoire)
2010 Samuel ETO’O (Cameroon)
2011 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2012 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2013 Yaya TOURE (Côte d’Ivoire)
2014 ?????


FIFA RANKING: Nigeria still 43rd in the world

Nigeria starts 2015 in 43rd position with 654 points on the ranking table of world football governing body FIFA, which was released on Thursday.
FIFA’s ranking table, placed on its website, showed that Nigeria did not move away from the position it was in the December 2014 ranking.
With Nigeria’s static position at the world level, its position at the continental level did not change also, while Mali displaced Zambia to be among the top 10 in Africa.
Nigeria remains in ninth place in Africa, behind Algeria, Tunisia, Cote D’Ivoire, Senegal, Ghana, Guinea, Cape Verde Islands and Cameroon respectively.
On the global level, there are also no changes among the top 10 as Germany, Argentina, Colombia, Belgium, Netherlands, Brazil, Portugal, France, Spain and Uruguay remain the first 10 countries respectively.
The next ranking will be released next month.

follow us on twiter @9jagoal for latest update in the nigeria football community


1.African Player of the Year
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)
Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria and Lille)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

2. African Player of the Year – Based in Africa.
Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif)
El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif)
Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

3. Women’s Player of the Year
Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and
Amazon Grimstad)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and

4.Youth Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona)
Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and River Angels)

5. Most Promising Talent
Clinton N’jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon)
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto)
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

6. Coach of the Year
Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)
Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)
Vahid Halilhodžic (Former coach of

7.National Team of the Year

8.Women’s National Team of the Year
Nigeria U-20

9.Club of the Year
Al Ahly (Egypt)
AS Vita (DR Congo)
ES Setif (Algeria)

10.Football Leader of the Year
Moise Katumbi Chapwe – President of TP
Mazembe (DR Congo)

11. African Legend award
Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964

Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League.

follow us on twiter @9jagoal for latest update in the nigeria football community

CAF, Globacom extend partnership till 2018

The Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF) and telecommunications giants, Globacom on Thursday, 8 January 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria, extended the sponsorship contract for the CAF Awards.

The renewed partnership will see Globacom remain as the headline sponsor of the annual CAF Awards until 2018.

The signing ceremony took place on the eve of the 2014 Awards Gala with CAF President, Issa Hayatou penning for the continental football governing body and Mrs Gladys Talabi, Globacom’s Executive Director of Legal Services for her outfit.

“Today’s event will ensure that the symbiotic relationship which started about ten (10) years ago between CAF and Globacom is sustained for another four years. With this agreement, we wish to reiterate our commitment to further stimulate and inspire the growth of football in our treasured continent,” Mrs Talabi said.

On his part, CAF President Hayatou commended Globacom for their support towards the development of African football over the years with their involvement in the annual CAF awards.

“We appreciate your support and what you have achieved and we can only pay homage to you (Globacom) for the tremendous efforts done towards the development of African football,” Hayatou remarked.

Also present at the ceremony were CAF Executive Committee members, Amadou Diakite, Adoum Djibrine, Anjorin Moucharafou, Kalusha Bwalya; FIFA Executive Committee member Jacques Anouma and CAF Deputy General Secretary, Essam Ahmed.

CAF and Globacom entered into partnership in 2005 when the first five-year contract was signed in France. Following the expiration in 2010, the agreement was extended by a further four years, thus 2014.

follow us on twiter @9jagoal for latest update in the nigeria football community

Oparanozie and Oshoala battle for African Women’s Footballer of the Year Award

2001 – Mercy Akide, Nigeria
2002 – Alberta Sackey, Ghana
2003 – Adjoa Bayor, Ghana
2004 – Perpetua Nkwocha, Nigeria
2005 – Perpetua Nkwocha, Nigeria
2006 – Cynthia Uwak, Nigeria
2007 – Cynthia Uwak, Nigeria
2008 – Alice Mattlou, South Africa
2009 – not awarded
2010 – Perpetua Nkwocha, Nigeria
2011 – Perpetua Nkwocha, Nigeria
2012 – Genoveva Añonma, Equatorial Guinea
2013 – not awarded
2014 – ???

follow us on twiter @9jagoal for latest update in the nigeria football community